Book review: Warren the 13th

Happy release day to Warren the 13th! I had the pleasure of reading this middle grade book over the weekend. It is a unique book perfect for ages 8-12 to adult. The graphics are gorgeous throughout the entire novel. Scroll past the blurb to see my review and a few pictures of the awesome artwork contained inside.

 

image1-1.JPG

 

Blurb: Meet Warren the 13th, a cursed 12-year-old Victorian bellhop who’s terribly unlucky . . . yet perpetually optimistic, hard-working, and curious. Orphan Warren’s pride and joy is his family’s hotel, but he’s been miserable ever since his evil Aunt Anaconda took over the management.

Anaconda believes a mysterious treasure known as the All-Seeing Eye is hidden somewhere on the grounds, and she’ll do anything to find it. If Warren wants to preserve his family’s legacy, he’ll need to find the treasure first—if the hotel’s many strange and wacky guests don’t beat him to it! This middle-grade adventure features gorgeous two-color illustrations on every page and a lavish two-column Victorian design that will pull young readers into a spooky and delightful mystery.

TANIA DEL RIO is a professional comic book writer and artist who has spent the past 10 years writing and illustrating, primarily for a young audience. Her clients include Archie Comics, Dark Horse, and Marvel; she is best known for her work writing and drawing the 42-issue run of Sabrina the Teenage Witch. She lives in Los Angeles.

WILL STAEHLE is the designer behind Stars and Swipes and Hugs and Misses (both, Quirk, 2014). He lives in Seattle.

 

image4.JPG

 

Rating: 5 stars ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

I loved this book. Although it is a middle grade book the story line kept me entertained and guessing throughout the whole novel. Warren is very relatable even though his environment might not be all the time.

 

image1.JPG
There are monsters in the boiler room and bats in the chimney. Warren lives in the attic, but he is a jack of all trades for the hotel. His main job is to keep Aunt Annaconda from destroying the hotel while looking for the all-seeing-eye.

 

image3.JPG

 

This book has the perfect amount of scary situations, problem solving, determination, and mysterious clues to make this book a solid middle grade book. I can’t wait to see where the next book in the series takes Warren.

 

image2.JPG

 

Recommendation:  This is the perfect book for fans of Coraline or A Series of Unfortunate Events.

 

Purchase from Amazon below:

Warren the 13th and The All-Seeing Eye: A Novel

Advertisements